My journey buying solo ads and how I discovered not all traffic is born equal
Like a lot of people building their online businesses while holding down a full-time job, so the time I can spend on marketing and growing my online income is limited.
I am continually juggling life in the corporate world, family and affiliate marketing trying to find a balance. So finding ways to save time and being as efficient as I can is very important to my success.
My other consideration is that I don’t have a massive marketing budget.
Sounds familiar right!
Because of this, I looked for traffic generation that is
- Quick to set up
- Fixed costs
- Easy to track, and
- Effective – opt in’s and sales
Because of this, I decided to use Solo Ad’s to drive leads into my business.
Well not exactly, I discovered very quickly that not all traffic is born equal, especially true for Solo Ad traffic.
Are Clicks really clicks
So the first thing I found was that I got the clicks I ordered, but they did not opt-in.
If they opted in, they did not engage with the emails or the offers.
In short, I got what I paid for.
If your paying for cheap traffic you get cheap traffic and ZERO results
Don’t focus on the cost per click
I was focusing on the wrong thing.
I was focusing on the cost per click which only tells me how much the traffic campaign will cost me.
This means nothing.
I needed to be focused on the Cost Per Lead.
Cost Per lead is the cost of the solo ad divided by the number of opt in’s
For example $45 / 35 = $1.29 per lead.
This is a more realistic view of the return on investment, but it’s not the whole story.
The cost to acquire a customer
The real figure to measure is the cost to purchase a customer.
Total marketing costs / total number of customers – for example.
$10,000 / 2000 = $5 per customer.
Why is this important?
Let’s go back to the cost of the solo ad.
What is better?
$250 for 500 clicks with a 30% opt-in rate with 1 sale
$650 for 500 clicks with a 75% opt-in rate with 11 sales
The first option has a $250 cost to acquire a customer, the second option has a $59 cost to acquire a customer.
The difference is the quality of the traffic resulting in a higher opt-in rate, higher engagement resulting in more sales.
The key here is promoting a high ticket product so they return on investment pays for the marketing costs and provides a profit.
I am now testing two traffic sources which fall under option two.
As I write this, I am waiting for the campaigns to start. I will follow up this post with the results in a case study- good or bad.
Have you been struggling with affiliate marketing and want to know a) why and b) what to do about it so you can finally get results. Let me know I have something for you that you may find helpful